Mens Fitness
← Back to Reviews

Brain Pill Review: Ingredients, Evidence and How It Compares to Other Brain Supplements

This review looks at what is in Brain Pill, what its one sponsored trial found, what independent research says about each ingredient, and where the evidence stops.

Made by: Leading Edge Health Inc.Reviewed by: Mens Fitness editorial teamUpdated: 27 Sept 2026

Brain Pill review: quick summary

  • Category: caffeine-free nootropic dietary supplement sold for focus, memory and mental stamina. It is not a medicine.
  • Formula: the official site lists 13 ingredients, including Cognizin® citicoline, Synapsa® bacopa, phosphatidylserine, huperzine A, vinpocetine and ginkgo.
  • Doses: the official site does not publish a Supplement Facts panel. The only per-ingredient doses we found are in the manufacturer’s 2017 clinical study report, which tested a 12-ingredient version with no vinpocetine.
  • Finished-product evidence: one sponsored, 12-week, placebo-controlled trial (79 randomized) reported a small working-memory improvement. It has not been published in a peer-reviewed journal that we could find.
  • Main safety flags: vinpocetine (the FDA warns against it in pregnancy), huperzine A (a cholinesterase inhibitor) and ginkgo (bleeding risk with blood thinners).
  • Price (checked 27 Sept 2026): $69.95 for one bottle, down to $59.16 per bottle in the six-bottle package. The guarantee requires returns within 67 days of delivery.

What is Brain Pill?

Brain Pill is a nootropic capsule sold by Leading Edge Health, the Canadian company behind GenF20 Plus, CortiSync and other supplements covered on this site. The official site pitches it at “entrepreneurs, high-level executives and serious peak performers.” It says the product contains no caffeine or stimulants.

What the manufacturer claims

The official site states that Brain Pill:

  • “Eliminates brain fog” and “combats mental fatigue”
  • “Protects & bolsters memory” and “ignites rapid recall”
  • Sustains cognitive energy “without the mid-day crash”
  • Improves learning ability

The site also says the formula is “clinically proven” and that users should take it for at least 30 days to get the full effect. The FAQ suggests allowing 30 to 90 days.

Brain Pill ingredients and doses

Brainpill.com lists 13 ingredients but no amounts, and we found no Supplement Facts image on the site. The manufacturer does link to its 2017 clinical study report (PDF), and Table 2 of that report lists the composition of the capsule tested. That version had 12 ingredients and no vinpocetine.

Ingredient Amount per day in the 2017 study formula Typical amount in independent research
Cognizin® citicoline 250 mg 250–500 mg/day
Synapsa® bacopa monnieri extract 320 mg 300 mg/day
Huperzine A “5 mg” (form not stated) microgram-level doses of the pure compound
Ginkgo biloba leaf extract 100 mg 240 mg/day in the large GEM trial
Phosphatidylserine (PS) 100 mg 100–300 mg/day
DHA complex 100 mg (DHA content not stated) about 1,160 mg DHA/day in one RCT
L-tyrosine 175 mg usually gram-level single doses
L-theanine 100 mg 100–200 mg
Vitamin B12 50 mcg —
Vitamin B6 5 mg —
Pantothenic acid (B5) 30 mg —
Folic acid (B9) 400 mcg —
Vinpocetine listed on the current site; amount not published —

Study formula from Table 2 of the manufacturer’s clinical study report (dated April 2018). In that study the dose was 2 capsules twice a day, about 1,186 mg in total. We could not confirm whether the current bottle uses the same amounts or directions. Check the Supplement Facts on the bottle you receive.

The huperzine A entry needs a note. Pure huperzine A is usually taken in micrograms. The report lists “5 mg” without saying whether this is an extract standardized to a lower percentage of huperzine A. The actual huperzine A content is therefore unclear.

Does Brain Pill work? The finished-product study

Brain Pill is one of the few branded nootropics tested as a finished product. The study report describes:

  • Design: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group trial
  • Participants: healthy adults aged 18–60 with subjective memory complaints and mild mood disturbance. 79 were randomized and 74 completed the trial.
  • Length: 12 weeks (84 days)
  • Sponsor and site: sponsored by Leading Edge Marketing Ltd and run by the CRO Vedic Lifesciences in Mumbai, India

What it reported:

  • Primary endpoint (working memory, digit recall): the composite score favored Brain Pill over placebo (p = 0.044). The difference came from accuracy, not speed.
  • Reaction time: faster at day 28 and day 56. By day 84 the difference from placebo was not significant (p = 0.476).
  • Visuospatial memory (matrix span): accuracy improved (p = 0.001).
  • Mood (BRUMS): scores fell in both groups, and the difference between groups was not significant.
  • Safety: there were no serious adverse events. Three minor adverse events were logged in the Brain Pill group and six in the placebo group.

How to read it. A placebo-controlled trial of the actual product counts for more than borrowed ingredient studies. But it is a single, small, manufacturer-funded trial that we could not find on PubMed, and its main result only just reached significance. The site says “every participant using Brain Pill® had a significant increase in cognitive functions,” but the report shows group averages and does not support that wording. The tested formula also left out vinpocetine, which the current product lists.

Ingredient-by-ingredient evidence

Citicoline (Cognizin®)

Citicoline supplies choline and cytidine for cell membranes. In a 12-week RCT of 100 healthy adults aged 50–85 with age-associated memory complaints, 500 mg/day of Cognizin improved episodic and composite memory compared with placebo (Nakazaki 2021, J Nutr). A 28-day study in adolescent males reported better attention and motor speed (McGlade 2019). Brain Pill’s 250 mg is within the tested range but below the dose used in the memory trial.

Bacopa monnieri (Synapsa®)

Bacopa has the most consistent memory data of any herb here, but it works slowly. At 300 mg/day for 12 weeks it improved learning and memory consolidation in healthy adults (Stough 2001) and verbal learning and delayed recall in adults over 55 (Morgan & Stevens 2010). A meta-analysis of nine RCTs found gains mainly in attention speed. Brain Pill’s 320 mg matches these doses.

Phosphatidylserine (PS)

PS is a membrane phospholipid. In a 6-month trial of older Japanese adults with memory complaints, soy-derived PS at 100 or 300 mg/day improved memory scores only in participants who started with lower scores (Kato-Kataoka 2010). The evidence is modest and comes mostly from older adults.

Huperzine A

Huperzine A, from Chinese club moss, inhibits acetylcholinesterase, the enzyme that breaks down acetylcholine (Wang 2006 review). Most of its human research is in people with diagnosed conditions rather than healthy adults. Its mechanism drives the safety cautions below.

Vinpocetine

Vinpocetine, derived from the periwinkle plant, has little good-quality evidence of cognitive benefit in healthy adults. See the safety section for the FDA’s concern.

Ginkgo biloba

The NIH’s NCCIH concludes there is “no conclusive evidence that ginkgo is helpful for any health condition.” The large GEM trial of more than 3,000 older adults found that ginkgo did not prevent cognitive decline.

L-theanine and L-tyrosine

L-theanine at 200 mg/day for four weeks improved verbal fluency and some stress measures (Hidese 2019). Much of the focus research combines it with caffeine (Owen 2008), which Brain Pill does not contain. A review of tyrosine studies found it helps mainly under acute stress or heavy mental demand. Those studies generally used gram-level doses, far above the 175 mg in the study formula.

DHA and B vitamins

DHA at 1.16 g/day improved memory reaction times in young adults with low DHA intake (Stonehouse 2013). Brain Pill’s 100 mg “DHA complex” is a small fraction of that. Vitamins B12, B6 and folate are needed for normal nerve function. Extra amounts help mainly people who are low in them.

Evidence boundary

  • What the research supports: citicoline and bacopa have placebo-controlled memory data at doses close to those in Brain Pill. Brain Pill itself has one sponsored trial showing a small working-memory effect over 12 weeks.
  • What it does not support: “eliminates brain fog,” “rapid recall” or all-day focus as proven outcomes. Several ingredients (DHA, tyrosine, ginkgo) are present at well below the doses used in research.
  • What we could not verify: the current label doses, the vinpocetine amount, and whether the formula tested in 2017 matches today’s bottle.
  • Not a treatment: Brain Pill is not shown to prevent or treat any memory or attention condition. See a doctor about persistent brain fog or forgetfulness.

Brain Pill side effects and safety

The trial reported no serious adverse events, but several ingredients carry known cautions:

  • Vinpocetine and pregnancy. In June 2019 the FDA warned that vinpocetine “may cause a miscarriage or harm fetal development.” It advised pregnant women and women who could become pregnant not to take it. The FDA also tentatively concluded in 2016 that vinpocetine is not a lawful dietary ingredient. Brain Pill’s FAQ says not to use it if pregnant, planning pregnancy or breastfeeding.
  • Huperzine A. Reported side effects are cholinergic, including nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, dizziness and insomnia. Using it alongside prescription cholinesterase inhibitors could add to their effects (Drugs.com monograph).
  • Ginkgo. It may raise bleeding risk in people taking anticoagulants such as warfarin. Common side effects are dizziness, stomach upset and headache (NCCIH).
  • Bacopa. It can cause digestive upset (Morgan & Stevens 2010).

Who should not take Brain Pill, or should talk to a doctor first

  • Anyone who is pregnant, could become pregnant or is breastfeeding (because of vinpocetine)
  • People taking blood thinners or antiplatelet drugs, or anyone scheduled for surgery
  • People taking cholinesterase inhibitors, anticholinergic drugs, or heart, seizure or mental-health medicines
  • Anyone with a heart condition, slow heart rate, asthma, stomach ulcers or seizures
  • Anyone under 18, or anyone with new or worsening memory problems (see a doctor first)

Price, guarantee and where to buy Brain Pill

The prices below were checked on the official site on 27 Sept 2026. Prices change, so confirm them at checkout.

Package Total Per bottle
1 month (1 bottle) $69.95 (listed down from $79.95) $69.95
2 months $130.95 $65.48
3 months $192.95 $64.32
4 months $253.95 $63.49
5 months $310.95 $62.19
6 months $354.95 $59.16

Shipping. The site advertises free shipping on select orders to the lower 48 US states only. Hawaii, Alaska and US territories are excluded.

Guarantee. The site offers a 60-day trial. Returns must arrive “within 67 days from the time of delivery” and are refunded minus shipping. On multi-bottle orders, unopened containers plus the first two opened ones qualify, and refunds are limited to “one order per customer.”

Where to buy. Buy from the official Brain Pill website. We did not verify stock or guarantee terms from third-party marketplaces.

Brain Pill vs other brain supplements for memory and focus

People searching for the “best brain supplements” or “best memory supplement” usually end up choosing between four broad types:

Type Typical example Strength of evidence Trade-off
Caffeine-based focus stacks caffeine + L-theanine Good for short-term alertness Can cause jitters or poor sleep. No memory-building effect.
Single ingredients citicoline, bacopa or omega-3 alone Individual RCTs at known doses Covers one pathway only. Easy to check the dose against studies.
Multi-ingredient nootropics Brain Pill and similar blends Usually ingredient-level evidence only. Brain Pill has one sponsored trial. Many ingredients at lower doses and more interaction points
Basic nutrition fixes B12, folate or DHA when intake is low Strong, but only if you are deficient Little benefit if your levels are already normal

Where Brain Pill stands out: it is caffeine-free, uses branded citicoline and bacopa extracts, and has a placebo-controlled trial of a version of the finished product. Most blends have none of these.

Where it falls short: current label doses are not published online, several ingredients are below research doses, and vinpocetine and huperzine A add safety restrictions that a single-ingredient citicoline or bacopa product avoids.

For brain fog: poor sleep, alcohol, thyroid problems, low B12 or iron, and some medications are common causes. Rule these out with a doctor first. Stress can play a part too; see how to lower cortisol and our CortiSync review.

Verdict

Brain Pill is better documented than most multi-ingredient nootropics: it uses recognized citicoline and bacopa extracts, and a sponsored 12-week trial reported a small working-memory benefit. But that evidence rests on one unpublished study of an older, vinpocetine-free formula, current label doses are not published online, and some ingredients are well below research amounts. It may suit healthy adults who want a caffeine-free option and will commit to 8–12 weeks. It is not for anyone who is pregnant or could become pregnant, takes blood thinners or cholinergic drugs, wants a caffeine-like effect, or is looking for treatment of a diagnosed condition.

Visit official website

Pros

  • Caffeine-free formula built around citicoline (Cognizin®) and bacopa (Synapsa®)
  • Placebo-controlled trial of a version of the finished product
  • Guarantee with a 67-day return window

Cons

  • No Supplement Facts panel on the official site
  • Trial was sponsored, small, unpublished, and tested a formula without vinpocetine
  • Vinpocetine and huperzine A bring pregnancy and drug-interaction cautions

Brain Pill FAQ

Does Brain Pill really work?

A 12-week, placebo-controlled trial sponsored by the manufacturer reported a small improvement in working-memory accuracy. It has not been independently replicated or published in a peer-reviewed journal that we could find, so results are not guaranteed.

What are the ingredients in Brain Pill?

The official site lists citicoline (Cognizin®), bacopa (Synapsa®), phosphatidylserine, huperzine A, vinpocetine, ginkgo biloba, DHA complex, L-tyrosine, L-theanine and vitamins B5, B6, B9 and B12.

Are brain pills for memory safe?

It depends on the ingredients. Brain Pill’s trial reported no serious adverse events, but vinpocetine should be avoided in pregnancy, huperzine A can interact with cholinergic drugs, and ginkgo may raise bleeding risk with blood thinners. Talk to a doctor first.

What are the best brain supplements for memory and focus?

The strongest ingredient-level evidence is for citicoline and bacopa taken for 12 weeks. L-theanine with caffeine has the best evidence for short-term alertness. Correcting low B12 or DHA helps if you are deficient. Brain Pill combines several of these but at mixed doses.

What is the best supplement for brain fog?

No supplement is proven to cure brain fog. Poor sleep, stress, alcohol, low B12 or iron, thyroid problems and some medications are common causes, so have them checked. Nootropics such as Brain Pill are marketed for mental fatigue, but that is a manufacturer claim.

How long does Brain Pill take to work?

The manufacturer suggests allowing 30 to 90 days. In its trial, some effects appeared by day 28–56 and the main memory result was measured at 12 weeks.

What is the Brain Pill guarantee?

The site offers a 60-day trial with returns due within 67 days of delivery. Refunds exclude shipping and are limited to one order per customer (checked 27 Sept 2026).

Sources and editorial status

Reviewed by the Mens Fitness editorial team. Sources checked 27 September 2026.

Ready to try Brain Pill?

Always check with your healthcare provider before starting a new supplement.